The Michigan Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (MI-LSAMP)

The Michigan Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (MI-LSAMP) is an alliance of five 4-year institutions and ten community colleges. The overall goal of the MI-LSAMP is to significantly increase the number of under-represented minority students earning baccalaureate degrees in the STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) disciplines and to prepare them for entry into graduate STEM degree programs. In order to participate in the MI-LSAMP you must:

  1. Be a citizen or permanent of the United States
  2. Be a member of an underrepresented racial/ethnic group as defined by the National Science Foundation (African American, Hispanic/Latino, American Indian, Pacific Islander and Alaskan Native)
  3. Be committed to obtaining a baccalaureate degree in a STEM (science, technology, engineering or mathematics) field

The community colleges and four-year institutions that are partners of the MI-LSAMP are listed below.

Participating Institutions

Delta College
Grand Rapids Community College
Kalamazoo Valley Community College
Kellogg Community College
Lake Michigan College
Lansing Community College
Macomb Community College
Michigan State University
Michigan Technological University
Muskegon Community College
University of Michigan
Washtenaw Community College
Wayne County Community College District
Wayne State University
Western Michigan University

MI-LSAMP Video: Voices of the MI-LSAMP Scholars